Skip to main content

Home /Committees & Networks /Liability Panel

Liability Panel

CIC’s work in the area of contracts, insurance and legal liability issues is undertaken by the Liability Panel, one of CIC’s longest running committees. The panel has 20 members consisting of representatives from CIC’s membership, the legal professions and specialist insurers. Members of the main Liability Panel meet five times a year and in addition to the main committee, there are also smaller sub-groups which are set up to enable the Liability Panel to provide a rapid response to a fast moving area. The Liability Panel is chaired by Nasir Khan.

Key Objectives

  • Consider liability, legal and insurance issues that affect CIC’s members.
  • Keep CIC’s members informed about such issues and publish guidance.
  • Draft and publish standard form contract documentation for consultants.
  • Campaign for changes in proposed or existing law.
  • Work with other construction industry bodies to achieve these ends.


  • Major current projects of the Liability Panel include:
  • The review of current CIC collateral warranties and novation agreements and the publication of a suite of new editions, including a new CIC Novation Ab Initio agreement.
  • Publication of guidance in the form of Risk Management Briefings, which examine current areas of concern in relation to liability.

The most recent Risk Management Briefings have been on the following:

Fitness for purpose obligations in consultant appointments - January 2023

The Building Safety Act 2022: Liability Implications - January 2023


CIC produces three main types of contracts:

  • Novation agreements
  • Collateral warranties
  • A Consultants’ Contract comprising three main elements

Recent projects have included contributing to the second edition of the CIC BIM Protocol, and the drafting an publication of Risk Management Briefings, on the subjects of Advising on Insurance, Construction Design Management Regulations 2015 , Consumer Rights Act 2015, and Guidance on the Bribery Act 2010.

Who's who on the CIC Liability Panel

Nasir Khan

Principal at HKA and Panel Chair

Gina Brill

Manager of Legal Affairs at Alan Baxter

David King

Technical Director at HKA

Andrew Croft

Partner at Beale & Co

Harry Pangli

Architectural Associate at Expert Architect Ltd

Thomas Alston

Client Services Director at Griffiths & Armour

Natalia Simon

Practice Executive at Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists

Alex Tait

Director of Practice at Royal Institute of British Architects

Other members

Sarah Lupton, Cardiff University

Melinda Parisotti, Wren Managers

Olivia Bateman, Fladgate

Mark Castelino, Devonshires Solicitors

Andrew Croft, Beale &Co

Graham Watts, CIC

Sarah Rider, Atkins

Deborah Harrison, BCSA

Kam Kandola, RIBA

Cesare McArdle, Herrington Carmichael

Lesley McLeod, Association for Project Safety

George McNeill, CIOB

Renato Nazzini, Kings College London

Samantha Peat, PII sub-group

Tom Pemberton, Lawrence Stephens Solicitors

Len Stewart, RICS

Jessica Taylor, Ashfords