Skip to main content

Home /News /Robin Nicholson CBE provides the ninth Happold Medal Lecture

Robin Nicholson CBE provides the ninth Happold Medal Lecture

Posted: 14th November 2013

The ninth Happold Medal Lecture took place 29 October 2013 during our two week programme of special anniversary events. Provided by Robin Nicholson CBE, former chairman of the Construction Industry Council (1998 – 2000) and senior member of Cullinan Studio, which he joined in 1979, a number of guests attended the lecture entitled “Collective responsibility for a sustainable industry.”

Following the lecture Robin participated in a panel discussion led by distinguished industry figures including; Jack Pringle (CIC Chairman) Tony Burton (CIC Deputy Chair) Louise Clarke (Chair, 2050 Group), Robin Wilson CBE (CIC Chairman 1994-1996), and Gavin Thompson (Chairman, Happold Trust). Robin was then presented with the Happold Medal in recognition of his commitment to the industry by CIC CEO Graham Watts and Matthew Happold.

Robin is only the ninth recipient of the award, and follows such illustrious names as:

Keith Clarke CBE (2012) “Who holds the pencil?”

Paul Morrell OBE (2011) - Can we get there from here?

Patrick Bellew (2008)

Professor Sir Peter Hall (2007)

Sir Howard Bernstein (2005)

Tessa Tennant (2001)

Amory Lovins (2000)

Sir Crispin Tickell GCMG KCVO (1998)

If you would like to listen to the audio of the lecture please visit our YouTube Channel