Skip to main content

Home /News /New CABE President Inaugurated

New CABE President Inaugurated

Posted: 15th May 2024

CABE is happy to announce that Richard Flynn PCABE CEng CEnv C.Build E FCABE is the Association’s new President.

Richard’s incumbency was ushered in at a ceremony in the House of Lords on 10 May 2024. The presidential chain was passed on to Richard Flynn from outgoing President Richard Smith, who noted that he had “seen the Association grow from strength to strength and [was] incredibly proud of what we have achieved. I now look forward to seeing what’s next in store.”

Richard accepted his appointment as President with family members and colleagues proudly watching on. After greeting all attendees in his native Irish, Richard went on to say, “As your President, I will continue to support the great work being done…ensuring our commitment to high standards, and I look forward to carrying this message across our events and functions throughout my year.”

Richard Flynn is based in the Republic of Ireland; having worked in private practice since 1986, he is a recognised expert in on-site wastewater treatment. As a CABE Member he has served on the Republic of Ireland Regional Committee and has been a professional interview panel member for Chartered Membership and for the professional titles Chartered Environmentalist (CEnv) and Chartered Engineer (CEng). Richard was also proud to sit, until recently, as Chair of the Association’s Membership and Professional Standards Committee (MPSC).

Alongside the presidential inauguration, CABE’s newest Board Members will also be taking up their positions in June 2024:

  • Paul Grinyer VPCABE C.Build E FCABE – Vice-President
  • Gary Cass C.Build E FCABE – Ordinary Board Member; and
  • Christine Leigh C.Build E FCABE – Ordinary Board Member

The full CABE Presidential Team:

  • Richard Flynn PCABE CEng CEnv C.Build E FCABE – President
  • Zoe Cox VPCABE C.Build E FCABE – Vice-President
  • Paul Grinyer VPCABE C.Build E FCABE – Vice-President
  • Richard Smith PPCABE FCABE – Immediate Past President