Skip to main content

Home /News /Winners of Considerate Constructors 2023 National Awards revealed

Winners of Considerate Constructors 2023 National Awards revealed

Posted: 29th November 2023

The winners of the prestigious Considerate Constructors Scheme’s (CCS) national Leading Lights Awards have been announced.

51 construction sites and organisations and 12 individuals received a national Leading Lights Award for their outstanding efforts in demonstrating the very highest levels of consideration in respect of the CCS’s Code of Considerate Practice.

Over 350 guests attended the glittering event held on 27 November at the Royal Lancaster Hotel, London.

The awards recognise projects, people and initiatives that have achieved outstanding performance in being a Considerate Constructor.

Each award category reflects the three areas of the CCS’s Code of Considerate Practice: Respecting the Community, Caring for the Environment and Valuing the Workforce.

The award categories were:

  • Community: Community Enrichment Award; Local Sourcing Award; Community Engagement Award.
  • Environment: Plastic Reduction Award; Natural Environment Award; Enhancement and Energy Efficiency Award.
  • Workforce: Physical Wellbeing Award; Mental Health Award; Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award.

11 award winners received the highest accolades by being crowned as the ‘Overall Winners’ and “Individual Champions”, they are:

Overall Winners: Community

  • Site: Tyzack Road, TSG Building Services
  • Organisation: Rubicon Heritage Services
  • Ultra Site: Old Oak Common Station Project, Balfour Beatty – Vinci – Systra Joint Venture (BBVS JV)
  • Individual Champion: Heather Bryant, Galliford Try

Overall Winners: Environment

  • Site: Northampton Gateway, Winvic Construction
  • Ultra Site: Wood Wharf, Canary Wharf Contractors
  • Organisation: Wernick Hire
  • Individual Champion: Paul Craig, Telford Homes

Overall Winners: Workforce

  • Site: Watkin Road Bridge, Danaher & Walsh (Civil Engineering)
  • Organisation: GRAHAM Construction
  • Individual Champion: Rafal Deska, Stella Rossa

Congratulating all award winners, Executive Chairman of the CCS, Amit Oberoi said: “On behalf of the Considerate Constructors Scheme, huge congratulations to all this year’s award winners. These construction sites, organisations and individuals should be immensely proud of their success. The enthusiasm and considerate practice they have shown in being a Considerate Constructor is highly commendable; achieving great standards through initiatives across communities, the environment and the industry’s workforce.

Click here to see all award winners.

The ceremony also celebrated the 25+ years the Considerate Constructors Scheme has been in place since it was established in 1997.