Skip to main content

Home /News /RIBA announces 2017 Honorary Fellowships

RIBA announces 2017 Honorary Fellowships

Posted: 29th September 2016

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced the 2017 RIBA Honorary Fellowships, which will be, including journalism, local government, art, architectural history and design.

RIBA Honorary Fellowships are awarded annually to people who have made a particular contribution to architecture in its broadest sense. This includes its promotion, administration and outreach; and its role in building more sustainable communities and in the education of future generations.

The 2017 RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be awarded to:

  • Iwan Baan – Photographer
  • Neil Baxter – Secretary and Treasurer, Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS)
  • Patricia Brown – Chair, New London Architecture
  • Martyn Evans – Board Director, London Festival of Architecture
  • Marcus Fairs – Founder and Editor-in-Chief, Dezeen
  • Stephen Howlett – Chief Executive, Peabody
  • Razia Iqbal – Journalist, BBC News
  • Jeremy Paul Melvin – Architectural historian and curator
  • Frédéric Migayrou – Chair, Bartlett Professor of Architecture, The Bartlett School of Architecture
  • Lars Müller – Publisher
  • Christine Murray – Editor-in-Chief, The Architects’ Journal and The Architectural Review
  • Jo Negrini – Chief Executive, London Borough of Croydon
  • Ian Pritchard – Secretary General, Architects’ Council of Europe
  • Julian S. Robinson – Director of Estates, London School of Economics
  • Dame Theresa Sackler – Dr Mortimer and Theresa Sackler Foundation
  • Sonia Watson – CEO, Stephen Lawrence Charitable Trust
  • Nathalie Weadick – Director, Irish Architecture Foundation

The lifetime honour allows recipients to use the initials Hon FRIBA after their name.

The 2017 RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be presented at a special event at the RIBA, 66 Portland Place, London, W1 in early 2017.