Skip to main content

Home /News /The Duke of Gloucester’s Young Achievers Scheme 2015

The Duke of Gloucester’s Young Achievers Scheme 2015

Posted: 12th September 2014

Charity Construction Youth Trust has launched its fourth annual awards scheme The Duke of Gloucester’s Young Achievers Scheme 2015.

The Duke of Gloucester’s Young Achievers scheme is a great opportunity for exceptional young professionals under 30 working in construction and the built environment to be commended and celebrated for their achievements.

There are five categories to enter: Construction Delivery, Design and Architecture, Engineering, Project Management and Surveying. One of the category winners is chosen as Overall Winner of the awards scheme.

Finalists are judged by a panel of industry experts through a process of presentations and interviews. They will be looking for young people who have not only achieved excellence in their careers so far, but who have had to overcome barriers and challenges or social disadvantage to get to where they are. They also look for those who go the extra mile by being involved with activities or initiatives that benefit the community or the construction industry.

Each winner will receive a cash prize and a unique development opportunity through the Trust with a one year mentoring programme to enable them to make an even greater impact in the years to come.

To enter, applicants must be under the age of 30 on 30th January 2015. Those interested in applying for The Duke of Gloucester’s Young Achievers Scheme have until the 7th November 2014 to apply for these prestigious awards.

The 2014 awards Overall Winner was Gary Fowler, winner of the Construction Delivery category. Despite starting as a ground worker with little practical or management experience or expertise Gary has now progressed to the role site agent on one of J. Breheny’s major projects and is a valued member of their team. The awards judges commented:

“Gary has an excellent understanding of the diverse skills needed in delivering projects and understands the importance of building relationships with clients and his suppliers to make a project a success.

He has demonstrated that it is possible to progress rapidly in construction with the right amount of passion and dedication which he demonstrated.”

For further information on the awards and how to apply please visit

The Categories:

  1. Construction Delivery
  2. Design and Architecture
  3. Engineering
  4. Project Management
  5. Surveying
  6. Overall winner (individual chosen from the winners of the other 5 categories)

The winners will be presented at an awards dinner in Spring 2015.

The awards are being sponsored this year by AECOM, CITB, EC Harris, KPMG and John Rowan and Partners.

To find out how you can sponsor the awards please contact John Graham at

Photo: 2014 winner Gary Fowler with HRH The Duke of Gloucester